Oman Regions

The Sultanate of Oman is administratively divided into five regions
and four governorates (Muscat, Dhofar, Musandam and Al Buraimi)

The regions

  • Al Batinah
  • Al Dhahirah
  • Al Dakhiliyah
  • Al Sharqiyah
  • Al Wusta

Sinbad's Oman Pocket Guide: Regions & governorates map of the Sultanate of Oman

Al Batinah      – Ancient Capitals – And home of Sinbad the Sailor!

Al Dhahirah    – A desert plain with a UNESCO World Heritage Archaeological Site – The Bat Tombs (4000 BC)

Al Dakhiliya    – from Forts to rock climbing

Al Sharqiyah   – Azure seas and virgin beaches, resting turtles, dramatic gorges and serene wadis.

Al Wusta         – The heart of Oman’s wildlife